Some Encouragement and a Day (morning) in My Life

Real Helps for Real Busy Moms #7

“Believe it: I have all I need for today. The needs of our day are great, but God is greater and we call Him Providence because we believe: He always provides. {And when God provides, He should be praised, and if God always provides, shouldn’t praise always be on the lips?}”

 God has provided me with so much encouragement over the past few days…even weeks. And it has been in the midst of the great and many challenges of motherhood. I usually don’t recognize when or how He provides till I reflect.

He brought this blog post-An Open Hearted Letter To Moms of Young Children-to my attention just yesterday. I really needed it. Thank you Lord. I encourage you to read it as well. Just a heads up, it’s really long…but so good. It made me cry…in a good way :-)

10+ Real Helps for a Really Busy Mom has also been a wonderful encouragement as I press on in this mothering adventure.  I think these are reminders I need on a daily basis!

And just for fun, I thought I’d give you a little “day in the life” picture of what our morning looked like today.  Enjoy!

(Times are approximate…imagine that!)

6 a.m.  I got to sleep in! It’s already a great day!

6:30-7:15 Boys up (they slept in today too! Wonderful!), breakfast, diaper changes and play clothes.

7:45 Get the boys ready for the grocery store. Socks, shoes, jackets, hats, snacks, diapers and wipes (just in case!). Me…wallet (often forgotten, but not today! phew!), keys, bags, gloves, coat, children. Ok…time to go!

8:15 Everyone is buckled in and we’re heading to the store!

8:25 Parked the car, grabbed a cart, and started getting the boys out of the car. Little brother pooped his pants. Sorry my dear, you’ll have to wait! (I decided to not use those diapers and wipes I brought…wondering how long it would even take us to try and work in a diaper change right now. Since it’s not explosive, we head in the store!)

Successful shopping! Only minor complaints from the boys, but the longer we are there, the more they increase. But the snacks and baby book I brought seem to keep them occupied for at least 5 minutes or so.

9 ish Big brother is getting covered by all the groceries…and Little brother is pretty fussy…it’s naptime….I haven’t finished getting groceries, but it’s really time to go already. I’ll have to come back later in the week for the other items. Plus, we already have a full cart.

9:20 In the checkout. Such a blessing to have a happy cashier! Filling our cart with the bags…have to take Big brother out of the cart (too cramped, poor guy!), so he will walk out with me.  Held on to him with one arm as we walked, and pushed the cart with the other arm, occasionally having to steer the cart using my foot (anyone else?), since it would often veer to the right.

9:30 In the car, heading home. Phew!

9:40 Home. Change the baby’s poopy diaper, nurse him, and put him down for a nap.

10 Snack for Big brother at the table, while I go and get the groceries out of the car.

10:08 Call from a dear friend! We laugh over the chaos of motherhood with littles. She too was returning from a shopping trip. Love you Zaza!

Continued putting away groceries while talking and giving Big brother more of his snack.

10:45 Read books with Big brother. Then he plays.

11:15 Nap for Big brother! And he went down pretty easy. BOTH boys are sleeping right now! I am so thankful to have a few moments of quiet…so thankful.

*Celebrating a successful shopping trip, two napping boys and a few quiet moments for mom!!!*

Totally unrelated: If you’re looking for a tasty snack that’s easy, delicious, and good for the kids…try these No Bake Energy Bites (We like to call then Granola Bites…and we loooove them!). But just a warning…they’re made with Peanut Butter for any of you who may have allergies.

You made it through another one of my random posts…congratulations! What successes are you celebrating TODAY?

