Freezer Jam!

I really feel like I’ve accomplished something by successfully making freezer jam on my own.  The truth is that it was much easier than I thought! (Which means you can do it too!)
Since I had SO many mulberries and few raspberries, I decided to use them together.  I used about 1 cup of the prepared mulberries and 1/2 cup of the prepared black raspberries.  By ‘prepared’ I mean pushed through a sieve, which I discovered is quite messy the way I did it, so perhaps I need to find a better way.  Anyways…that comes to 1 1/2 c. prepared berries – I divided the original recipe in half due to the amount of berries I had on hand, and I ended up with 4 8-oz freezer jars (by Ball) full of delicious jam!  Though anything is tasty when you add that much sugar to it!  Seriously, there’s more sugar in it than berries!  Yikes.  Still yummy tho.
I will have to update you on the FINAL result.  It still needs to set in the refrigerator a little longer.  I should know for sure by tomorrow.  Here’s the recipe I used (keep in mind that I took this recipe and divided it in HALF, and just used a combo of the berries I had):

FREEZER JAM

3 c. crushed berries (I pushed mine through a sieve instead)

¾ c. water

1 pkg (1.75-oz) Ball Original Fruit Pectin

2 T lemon juice

5 ¼ c. sugar

1. Combing prepared fruit with lemon juice in large bowl.  Add sugar, mix thoroughly.  Let stand 10 minutes.

2. Combine water and pectin in small saucepan.  Bring to full rolling boil that cannot be stirred down, stirring constantly.  Boil har for 1 minute, continuing to stir.

3. Add cooked pectin mixture to fruit mixture.  Stir for 3 minutes.

4. Ladle freezer jam into clean freezer jars leaving ½ inch headspace.  Apply caps and let jam stand in refrigerator until set, but no longer than 24 hours.  Serve immediately, refrigerate up to 3 weeks or freeze up to 1 year.
*I find it odd that it says “no longer than 24 hours” but also indicates that you can “refrigerate up to 3 weeks”.   Does anyone else know why they specify the 24 hours?  Let me know.

