Pressing on…

I’m still going back and forth about my dreads.  Yesterday I really wanted to comb them out…Today I want to keep them.  I still get caught up on what others think.

I sat in church a few sundays ago and was admiring a young womans beautiful long super curly hair.  I found myself not just admiring, but envying her.  My heart is such a mess sometimes.  When I didn’t have dreads, I envied those who did…now that I have dreads, I envy those who don’t.  I’m thankful that the Lord is so gracious to me while I’m am learning and growing.  I never knew how much of a struggle my hair could be…a heart struggle I mean.  And I am the one who makes it so.  I need to find my identity and my joy in the Lord and not just in the things that he has given me.

Sometimes I fear that I’ve lost all “feminine” beauty now that I have dreads because, in America at least, it seems that dreads on white girls aren’t seen as attractive.   It can be so easy to believe what our culture tells us about beauty…but what does the Bible teach us about beauty?  It’s not about what on the outside…instead we’re told to “Let your adorning be the hidden person of the heart with the imperishable beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which in God’s sight is very precious.” 1 Peter3:4

Just for fun, I thought I’d share this short video…a girl with dreads playing a hang drum…I’ve never even heard of a hang drum until now and it is absolutely beautiful!  Take a look/listen and enjoy some wonderful dreads and beautiful music! 🙂

Update: One other quick note in case anyone was curious about the dread bead in the picture…I bought it from Seididread’s Etsy Shop.  It is a beautiful bead, very durable, the pictures do not do it justice.  If you’re looking for some dread accessories, take a look at her shop.


