Dear Quilting, I love you…

…at least this week I do.  I hope this love will last longer than my many other random inspirations!

It has certainly been a while since I posted something crafty…so here we go!

This is what I have recently been inspired to work on…2 (small) quilts!  This is my VERY FIRST attempt at making a quilt, and I am amazed at how simple it really is!  (as long as you start off with something small and basic)

The first one is a dinosaur quilt for my son…can you believe he’s a year old already?  I found this dinosaur fabric a while back at Joann’s and used it to make a small table runner for his birthday party as well as a diaper cover.  I still had some fabric left over, along with some red fabric from a previous project.  I’m having a bit of trouble with the binding though (the corners at least), but other than that it’s almost done!

And a second quilt for me…I mean…my family 😉  I’m planning to make it a couch quilt, so not too big, but big enough to share with my love while we watch a movie!  Just started this one, with batik fabrics!  I LOVE BATIKS!!!!  They are just so beautiful!!  Joann’s had fat quarters on sale for 99 cents each, so I bought a good handful of them and found a black batik fabric (by the yard) that I’ll use for the backing.  Weeeee!  I really hope this one turns out nice!  Here’s what I have so far…

And for any of you who think you might be interested in starting a quilt, definitely visit Write it Down.  And go to her Tutorials page, where you’ll find her Baby Quilt Tutorial.  That’s how I learned how to do all of this…I obviously didn’t go with the same kind of pattern that she did, but I did follow most of her step by step instruction (with wonderful pictures to help) to get me through the process!  She really has a GREAT tutorial, so make sure you check it out!

 

Ok…off to the rest of the day (and hopefully there will be time for more quilting! 🙂

Let me know what you’ve been working on!  Or if you have and links of tutorials to share!  Happy Wednesday Friends!

Much love,

Heather

